This Little Light of Mine…

“You are the light of the world–like a city on a hilltop that cannot be hidden. No one lights a lamp and then puts it under a basket. Instead, a lamp is placed on a stand, where it gives light to everyone in the house. In the same way, let your good deeds shine out for all to see, so that everyone will praise your heavenly Father.”
Matthew 5:14 -16

Lord, you know that I come to You often with questions about who I am and what You created me to do in this life.

Today I thought about what I love to do. I love to read, I love to learn new things, and I love sharing my thoughts and feelings with others.

I also asked myself. What am I good at? I’m good at reading, learning, and sharing! LOL

Then I asked myself what does the world need? I honestly think that the world needs people to share the things they love, the things they think, and the way they feel in order to build connection, and unity, and to create peace.

So, I’m finally believing You’ve created me to be a storyteller. To tell real stories. My stories.

It’s been hard to write about what I love, and what I’ve learned, because deep down inside, I didn’t believe anyone read what I wrote, because no one cared about what I wrote, therefore that meant my efforts didn’t matter. Oh, that ego of mine!!!

You have already told me that I have everything I need to bring peace into this world. I have the Holy Spirit in me. It’s just that I keep feeling unsure of whether I’m doing it right or not. And if I’m not, what does “right” look like?
(2 Peter 1:3-10)

But today I have realized that I need to stop comparing myself with others or thinking that what I do needs to look or be the same as what’s already done or is being done. I mean, if it’s already happening, then you don’t need more of the same, right? You created me uniquely. I’m one of a kind. Original. So, I don’t need to do things the way others do them. I can do them the way Your Spirit tells me to, the way I was created to.

Here is the truth: what I say and do is precious to You. You laugh and rejoice and get excited when You see me glorify You with my true self. It’s by using my gifts that I can give you pleasure, not whether or not they produce any results in the world. My view that I have to be productive is warped. My purpose is to encourage others to praise You, but I guess that’s Your business. Because that’s out of my control. I can’t make others respond to my efforts. It has to be their choice.

When I write, it’s like I’m dancing for You alone. It’s like I’m writing You a love song. You put all these things in my heart, I’m just speaking them back to You for all to hear. Whether anyone actually pays attention or not, is up to them. I don’t need anyone else’s approval, or their acknowledgments, or feedback. I’m not doing it for them. I’m doing it for You and only You, Jesus.

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started